The Long Black Veil

I have been silent for nearly two weeks. These have not been the best two weeks.

It’s not worth the paper to go into details. Or maybe despite the fact that I have a small, but loyal group of readers, I don’t want to share the demons that sometimes keep joy at bay.

Joy should be the bedrock of our daily existence – or at least I believe it should be. Sometimes the joy is absent. I honestly don’t know why that happens. It seems by the definition I offered in the first post, joy should not be absent because it should be something so basic and so comforting – even in bad times – that we don’t want to loose track of it.

I don’t know.

I have been taking a meditation class and our instructor has suggested that while we breathe we repeat this over to ourselves: May I be happy, May I be well, May I be at peace.

May you be joyful, may you be well, may you be at peace.

 

3 comments on “The Long Black Veil

  1. Interesting chant. I chant – “I am happy. I am healthy. I am growing.” Why don’t I chant “May I be . . . ” Well, maybe it is my stubborn streak, but I feel that I shouldn’t have to ask permission from myself to have what is a God given gift. We all have it inside of us. We just have to learn to recognize it.

  2. Ron Welch says:

    I don’t think joy can be a constant in our lives. I’m not sure humans are geared for that and perhaps we appreciate joy all the more because it is not always present. Joy arrives like a butterfly in the garden, quietly. It flutters around us for short time, showing us its beauty, and then is gone.

  3. Laura Stanziola says:

    The irony of being human is that not everything can be experienced or learned through joy. Pain and doubt and sorrow, to name but a few, open up our hearts to compassion and understanding, open our eyes to see what was not seen before, and can lead us in directions that do eventually lead to joy in our lives. For me, this is the fullness of Being.

Leave a Reply

